Skip to main navigation Skip to main content


This year's awards will recognize campus community members who have actively worked to advance a culture of inclusion and belonging among all members of the Georgia Tech community. One faculty member, staff member, student, and campus unit who have advanced the principles of diversity, equity, and inclusion at Georgia Tech will be recognized at the 2023 Diversity Symposium in September.


Eligibility & Criteria


All faculty, staff, students, and campus units (e.g. - College, School, department) are eligible for this award with the exception of previous recipients of a Diversity Champion Award or Gender Equity Champion Award.


2023 Diversity Champion Awards recipients should have demonstrated one or more of the following within the past three (3) years:

  • Commitment to research and/or activities that engage and challenge racism and expand diversity, equity, and inclusion at Tech
  • Leadership in building a culture of inclusion and belonging among all members of the GT campus community
  • Scholarship or work that advances a culture of diversity, equity, and inclusive excellence at Georgia Tech
  • Organized, conducted, and/or supported programs, events, and activities that promote an understanding of different cultures, and create an environment where everyone feels a sense of belonging at Tech

Past Winners

  • Faculty: Ana Rusch
  • Staff: Lex Baker
  • Student: Dae'Shawn Taylor
  • Unit: GT Career Center

  • Faculty: Donna Ennis
  • Staff: Arianna Robinson
  • Student: Nina Sara Fraticelli-Guzmán
  • Unit: LGBTQIA Resource Center

Meet the 2022 Diversity Champions

  • Faculty: Lewis Wheaton
  • Staff: Shaunitra Wisdom
  • Student: Shelbe Johnson
  • Unit: Office of Undergraduate Education's Equality Collective

  • Faculty: Cassie Mitchell
  • Staff: Johan Rempel
  • Student: Nandita Gupta
  • Unit: Writing and Communication Program (Ivan Allen College of Liberal Arts)

  • Faculty: Maryam Alavi
  • Staff: Melanie DeMaeyer
  • Student: Cong Luo
  • Unit: Wallace H. Coulter Department of Biomedical Engineering

  • Faculty: Katherine Fu
  • Staff: LaJauna Ellis 
  • Student: William Harrer
  • Unit: MBA Programs Office at Ernest Scheller Jr. College of Business 

  • Faculty: Anne Pollock
  • Staff: Jocelyn Thomas
  • Student: Jennifer Salcedo
  • Unit: CEED 

  • Faculty: Mary Frank Fox
  • Staff: Shannon Sullivan
  • Student: Kendall Rankin
  • Unit: School of Physics

  • Faculty: Mary Lynn Realff and Stephen Ruffin
  • Staff: Madison Cario and Matthew Hall
  • Students: W.R. Alexander Berry and Andrea Welsh
  • Units: Division of Student Life and School of Mathematics

  • Faculty: Carol Colatrella and Gary May
  • Staff: Sandy Simpson
  • Student: Kate Overstreet
  • Unit: CEISMC

  • Faculty: Rigoberto Hernandez
  • Staff: Keith Oden 
  • Student: Jiby Yohannen
  • Unit: Project ENGAGES

Nomination Process

Nominations are closed for the 2023 Diversity Champion Awards.